June 21, 2022/Media, Press

Texas Democratic Party Announces Unofficial Results of Recount in CD-28 Primary

LAREDO, Texas — Today, after an electronic recount of the votes in the CD-28 Democratic primary runoff election, the Texas Democratic Party announced that Henry Cuellar has secured enough votes to earn the Democratic nomination for U.S. Congress from the 28th Congressional District. 

“After a hard-fought primary battle, the voters of South Texas have spoken and they have decided that Henry Cuellar will again represent them in Washington, continuing his work to lead the Borderland and stand up for hard-working middle-class families from Laredo to San Antonio,” said Texas Democratic Party Chairman Gilberto Hinojosa. “We’re grateful to Jessica Cisneros for the positive campaign she ran — shining a light on the issues that are really impacting South Texas. We all know she will continue to fight for South Texans as we rally together behind our nominee, Henry Cuellar.”

County-by-county results can be found in the table below:

County Name Original Vote Count – Cisneros Original Vote Count – Cuellar New Vote Count – Cisneros New Vote Count – Cuellar
Atascosa 797 384 797 383
Bexar 10,233 1,705 10,228 1,705
Duval 756 1,641 757 1,643
Guadalupe 3,315 327 3,315 327
Jim Hogg 177 661 177 662
McMullen 3 6 3 6
Starr 593 2,514 597 2,518
Webb 6,560 14,334 6,558 14,334
Zapata 180 1,323 180 1,323
TOTAL 22,614 22,895 22,612 22,901


In counties throughout the District, recount committees were appointed and worked to facilitate a thorough and transparent electronic recount of the ballots. 

Both campaigns were provided the opportunity to send representatives to all of the recount sites. 

The Texas Democratic Party worked to support the County Recount Committees throughout the recount process until every last vote was accurately and transparently tallied.